Friday, July 16, 2010

To move or not to move

that's the question I'm facing. I have mentioned before that I commute 4 hours a day to work (2 hours each way) and that we are living paycheck to paycheck. We found a house last night that DH LOVES. I'm on the fence. Here are the details of both our current home and the potential new one...advice needed!

Current Home:
Commute time to work is 2 hours each way
4 large bedrooms
2.5 bath
Living room, dining room, family room
1/2 acre lot
Large open kitchen
Eat in kitchen
Large family room
Wood burning fireplace
Fenced yard
Patio
No mature trees (we've planted trees, but they are still small)
Built in 2006 so everything is "new"
2 story with full basement
City water and sewer
Carpet in bedrooms, living room, dining room and family room
Hardwood in hallways and kitchen
School within walking distance
Good school district
2 car attached garage
Gas heat
Central air
Walking distance to some stores
2 highways approx 5 minutes (driving) away


Potential Home
Commute time to work would be 1hr 15 min each way, 90 minutes saved
3 smaller bedrooms (not including one referenced below)
9x9 office in lower level and 9x11 "bedroom" in lower level
1.5 baths
1 acre lot
SMALL kitchen
Eat in area is very small, would need a very small table or eat in dining room
Living room, dining room, family room
Wood burning fireplace
No fence
Large Patio
TONS of mature gorgeous trees
Built in 1965
Hardwood floors in all bedrooms
Ceramic tile in kitchen
Quad Level
Well and Septic
$600 savings per month (roughly)
Lexi would have to take a school bus to school
Good school district
oversized 2 1/2 car attached garage
detached oversized 4 car garage on back of property
Hot water heat
No central air
No stores within walking distance
Closest highway is 20 minutes (driving) away
Lots of stores, restaurants within 5 - 10 minute drive

3 comments:

楊儀卉 said...

你的努力我們都看見了--支持你...............................................................

raisingmiles said...

For me, the $600/month savings and the less commute time would do it.

But it's really up to you mama!

s.e. said...

I am dying to know what suburb this is in. I have a few guesses with the commute time.

In my opinion, you cannot weigh pros and cons on this. Your gut says so much more.

Do you think you could sell yours now? On the other hand, wouldn't you rather even eat on the floor to get more time with your little one?